Whip yo’ hair back and forth

Hey there!

It’s Juna here 🙂 Sorry about the lack of posts recently but between exams and classes starting again, we’v been pretty busy. To make up for it I’m doing a short post today about a couple of hair products I really like.

By the way, I have to apologise that a lot of the products here have their caps missing. I am cursed when it comes to bottle caps.

1. Argan Oil

This dubious-looking bottle is singularly the best hair product I have ever used. It’s Argan Oil (marketed sometimes as Moroccan Oil) and I got this while in Essaouira. The oil can be used for multiple purposes, but I primarily use it for my hair. Since I use straighteners on my hair a lot, it gets pretty damaged over time, specially the ends. After a couple of weeks of using this product I noticed a marked difference in the appearance of my hair, and it was falling out much less. This is one product that should be in every girl’s beauty arsenal.

DSC_7268

2. Aussie Dual Personality Hi-Hold + Hi-Shine Hairspray

One of the better hairsprays that I have come across. Aussie products are great for volume, and this hairspray doesn’t disappoint. It doesn’t dry out my hair (as some other hairsprays do) and doesn’t make it too rigid to the touch. Plus, it smells great!

DSC_7260

3. TRESemmé Heat Defence Styling Spray

This product disperses a mist (though it says spray). It’s very light so I use this when I am going for more voluminous hair. One problem is that your hair gets damp when you put a bit more of the product on, so you have to wait for a bit for the hair to dry before using the straightener/curling iron.

DSC_7262

4. VO5 Tame&Shine Heat Defence Taming Spray

This spray doubles as a heat protectant and a shine spray. The texture is more similar to that of a hair serum, and it is great if you are going for a more sleek do, as it de-frizzes your hair (not recommended if you want to go for volume). One down-side is that you have to be careful about how much you spray on, as a heavy application can result in your hair looking too slick and feeling oily to the touch.

DSC_7263

5. John Freida Full Repair Deep Infusion Serum

Again, a wonder product. The bottle is tiny but it packs so much goodness! Just one pump is enough to leave your hair feeling remarkably healthy. Instead of just applying the serum, I would recommend really working it in to the ends of your hair. This really helps with split ends. When out and about and in humid weather, you can use this product to get rid of frizzy hair and fly-aways.

DSC_7265

6. Batiste Dry Shampoo

All those days I over-slept and woke up with 20 minutes to get myself to class and no time to wash my hair, this dry shampoo spray helped me look presentable. This may sound nasty to some of you, but I can’t afford to wash and straighten my hair every single day because so much heat would damage it. I spray this on to my roots and work it in with my fingers, comb through, and voila! Instant volume and fresh-looking hair. It’s a bit difficult to wash out though, sometimes it would require about two shampoos to get your hair completely clean. I wouldn’t dare travel anywhere without this!

DSC_7261

7. Babyliss Ceramic Straightening Brush

With my new hair, it’s not really possible to wear it curly because my hair poofs up in to the most unflattering afro and I look like your neighbourhood crazy cat lady. I don’t want to use my straightener all the time, and want to change over to blow-drying my hair. I haven’t tried this out yet, but I have heard good reviews about this. It may not be visible in the photo but the black plate of the brush is perforated so the heat from the hair dryer goes right through. I’ll update you all on how good this product is, but I have high hopes!

DSC_7266

There it is for now, drop a comment if you want to know where we got our products from, or if you need any advice on specific styling 😀

Until next time, stay fab! xx

Leave a Reply

