Juna’s curly hair routine

Hello everyone!

It’s Juna here 🙂

We’re back after a temporary hiatus with more posts!

Today I’m gonna do one on my hair and how I style it curly.

HAIR TYPE

My hair is naturally very curly. It’s not always been like this; I had pin-straight hair when young, a frizzy mop in my early teens, and then my hair finally evolved into what it is when I was 16 or so.

It can be pretty dry and frizzy, because curly hair is naturally a bit more coarse than straight hair. I used to tame the frizz by piling on excessive amounts of creams and mousse when styling, but this didn’t look too good. Through a process of trial and error (that took a couple of years :P) I have finally found a routine which makes my hair look good.

PRE-WASH

If I have the time, I try to massage my hair with some oil (I love Argan oil) and pile my hair into a bun and wait for an hour or so. I don’t comb or brush my hair at any stage when keeping my hair curly because I find that it makes it frizzy.

WASHING CURLY HAIR

I know a lot of people advocate curl-enhancing shampoos and conditioners, but I find that these do little for my hair. Instead, I use a normal shampoo (H&S, because my scalp can get dry) and a moisturising conditioner (I use H&S Smooth and Silky). One or twice a week a use a deep-conditioning mask. Most drugstore brands like Pantene have really good conditioning masks at cheap prices. I finger-comb through my hair and detangle it while in the shower; this is the only time I detangle it, but I normally never have huge knots in my hair.

POST-WASH

I squeeze excess water out of my hair and wrap a towel around my hair without rubbing it dry. I find that rubbing it causes my hair to become really frizzy even before styling. I keep the towel on for about 5 minutes, and then remove it (again, I don’t rub my hair). Next, I use my styling cream of choice. I use relatively fewer styling products than when I straighten my hair as excess product weighs down my hair and loosens the curls too much.

I use a pea-sized amount of product and work it through my damp hair. It’s always better to use a little product, because excess product causes the dreaded crunchy-curl, leaving your hair very stiff to the touch.

If I find that my hair has dried up a bit, I spritz it with some water. After applying the cream, I roll my hair into a tight bun on top of my head and keep it there for about 3 minutes. I don’t think many people would approve of this (some people go for the scrunch-and-dry approach), but it works better for me because I feel that my hair strands gather together, and when I dry them with my blowdryer I get thicker curls.

Currently, I use this product;

DSC_3366Bumble and Bumble Bb Curl Conscious Defining Creme

Some of the other styling creams I have used and loved over the years are:

1. Kérastase Créme D’Huile Oléo-Curl (Lovely scent, leaves curls very softly styled)

2. Pantene Defined Curls Mousse (More definition than the product above, curls last a bit longer. Style lasts overnight)

STYLING

A diffuser is an absolute must-have in every curly-haired girl’s beauty arsenal. Replace the nozzle of your blow dryer with this and it performs wonders. It spreads the hot air out evenly while helping keep the shape of the curls.

DSC_3370

IMG_6738

My weapon of choice: BaByliss Pro Speed Professional Expertise

I use a blow dryer with multiple speed and heat settings. I always use m diffuser on the lowest speed (wouldn’t want to lose the form of my styled curls!) and at medium heat.

I then roll out my bun (my hair still in the spiral) and tip my head over and collect my hair into the diffuser. While drying, i slowly separate the curls in thick sections as I go along. I like a bit of volume on top of my hair, which is why I tip my head over to dry my hair. 

If I want to have a uniform part, I part my hair while it is still damp (skipping the bun) and alternatively scrunch and blow dry (this is the method shown in the picture below).

DSC_3272

 

This process takes me anywhere from 15-25 minutes (takes patience ;)). 

FINISHING TOUCHES

After drying my hair, I sometimes use a curling iron on the few curls that frame my face, this makes it look more put-together, I feel.

DSC_3304

 

I then spray a light mist of medium-hold hairspray (not too much) to keep my hair in place. And that’s about it 🙂

DSC_3486

 

DSC_3402

 

DSC_3461

 

DSC_3447

 

Any questions about this post? Feel free to drop a comment below!

Until next time, and stay fab! xx

Leave a Reply

